Skip to main content

Posted on

After extensive consultations across the church, the interim report from the Boundaries Commission is proposing 17 regional councils be established on January 1, 2019, if Remit 1 (Three Council Model) is passed at the 43rd General Council in July 2018.   Read the interim report from the Boundaries Commission on the General Council website, including draft maps. 

Feedback and suggestions on this interim decision will be accepted until January 31, 2018, at remits@united-church.ca. If any church court (pastoral charge, presbytery, Conference) has a suggestion for a specific change, that court’s governing body must pass a motion naming the requested change. The motion can then be e-mailed to regchange@united-church.ca by January 31, 2018. The Commission will receive and study all feedback and make decisions on all the requested changes. It will release its final report no later than March 15, 2018, outlining the final boundaries of the new regional councils.

Boundaries Commission Chairperson, the Rev. Andrew Richardson, will host a YouTube Live event on the Commission’s processes on January 15, 2018: 10:00 a.m. PST; 11:00 a.m. MST; 12:00 noon CST; 1:00 p.m. EST; 2:00 p.m. AST; 2:30 p.m. NST. It will be recorded and available on www.youtube.com/unitedchurchofcanada